When Life Happens….

As some of you know, I’ve been participating in NaNoWriMo (NAtional NOvel WRIting MOnth), where people around the world  commit to write a 50,000 word novel first draft in 30 days.

A week ago, on Nov 22, I wrote about how a weekend away not only put me behind on my word count, but also broke my rhythm so I sat there and stared at the screen rather than writing.

Well, I had broken through the writer’s block, caught up on my word count and thought that I was in the clear, when suddenly, out of the blue, the unexpected struck.

The husband and I were knocked down and out this weekend with an “exciting” attack of a combo of stomach and respiratory bug. The kind of thing that makes sitting up seem like a lot of effort…

Sigh.

So, what do you do when life gets in the way of your writing?

You do the best you can. You write if you can, one word at a time if necessary. And if you can’t, you sleep, and drink lotsa liquids, and nibble on buttered toast or saltines if you’re ready for them.

If you can, you think about what you’re gonna write next once you’re well enough to do so.

And you count it all as part of the research you need to do to get that next thing written…

I still have 2306 words to write…

My deadline is midnight on November 30 (that’s Wednesday)…

Will I make it?

Let’s see…

Catherine Kane

11/29/11

This entry was posted in My Writing, and What's Up With That, The Process of Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When Life Happens….

  1. You can totally do this! I believe in you 🙂

Leave a comment