The Discipline of Writing…

For the past month, I’ve been immersed in NaNoWriMo, which means a pretty hefty immersion in writing. When you’re doing NaNo, every day, you’re committed to sitting down and doing a substantial amount of writing, and if Life happens and you miss a day, you have to write extra hard to catch up with your word count.

That’s the discipline of writing and its a useful thing for a writer to learn.

Before NaNo, I was on a tight deadline to finish my latest book “The Psychic Power of Your Dreams” in order to have it out in time for the Changing Times, Changing Worlds convention (which is my unofficial deadline to have my book out every year.) This also required a heavy duty commitment to writing, writing well and writing a lot on a regular basis

Now those deadlines are done, and, while I’m still writing for my blogs and my day job, my writing commitment has lightened considerably.

And it feels odd.

I get up in the morning and I don’t have to dive immediately onto the computer to work in some words before I have to get ready for work. I have more time for reading, or leisure, or other things that I like but have had less time for.

Now more time and energy is a good thing. We’re into the Christmas crafting season ad I have gifts to make. That takes time and effort too.

But there’s still a touch of a drifty feeling in regards to my writing.

After the holidays, I’ll be back and more intensive writing again and it’s good to have more time and energy for the season

It’s worth noting, however, that when you’ve developed the discipline of writing, it feels odd not to be writing as much.

Catch you again next week

Catherine Kane

12/6/13

For more information on Catherine’s books, “Adventures in Palmistry”, “The Practical Empath – Surviving and Thriving as a Psychic Empath”, “Manifesting Something Better” her urban fantasy “The Lands That Lie Between”  and her new book “The Psychic Power of Your Dreams”, all from Foresight Publications, click here

This entry was posted in My Writing, and What's Up With That and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Discipline of Writing…

  1. Pingback: Are You A Dutiful Writer..? | Mandyevebarnett's Blog

Leave a Reply

