Editing Hiatus – Bits and Pieces

Some people say they love the editing process- that it’s their favorite part.

Not me.

While I do like getting the right word or phrase, or polishing a sentence til it gleams, an awful lot of editing is laborious, tedious, unpleasant work to me- but I do it because it’s part off the process of getting a finished book to my readers that will hopefully be interesting, useful or both.

Well, I’ve done a couple of copy edits. I’ve done a few content edits. I’ve broken the current draft into chapters and sent them off to my beta readers; and I’m beginning to hear back from them.

Some of my readers have already responded. (amazingly fast! Thanks!) While I wait to hear back from the rest, it’s a good time to work on fiddly little details.

  • Deciding on final title
  • Cover copy
  • Picture for cover
  • Index for book
  • Deciding whether I want to try to add a tear out form or two and playing with that
  • Beginning to build the reference site for additional info related to the book. (A first for me- this one will be interactive)

I’ve got a mostly open weekend and that gives me the chance to chew through a bunch of these little things that come together to make a book a book.

So where are you on your writing?

Catherine Kane

7/25/14

For more information on Catherine’s books, “Adventures in Palmistry”, “The Practical Empath – Surviving and Thriving as a Psychic Empath”, “Manifesting Something Better” her urban fantasy “The Lands That Lie Between”  and her new book “The Psychic Power of Your Dreams”, all from Foresight Publications, click here

This entry was posted in My Writing, and What's Up With That and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

