Changing Up My Writing (Nano style) Again….

Back on November 5th, I did a post about something odd that was happening with my writing during this year’s NaNoWriMo (Changing Up My Writing (Nano style) )

You see, usually,  I write my fiction free form but I have an outline and a plan for my non- fiction. In other words, I’m a non-fiction hands with laptop typing in nightplanner and a fiction pantser.

But this year has been different. I’m roughing out my next metaphysical, non-fiction book (working title “Tell Yourself Better Stories”) for NaNo this year, and the writing was slow, labored and painful.

Now I believe strongly in the topic. I’m very familiar with the basic points I wanted to explore. I had done my prep work and was ready to rock-

-but the writing just wasn’t coming.

It crawled. It dragged. It was tedious

and thus, in desperation, I decided to change things out. I decided to pants it

and the words began to flow

I was excited, but this only lasted for a few days before the torrent of words slowed to a trickle again

I kept going, but I also stopped to think about it in the process. I realized that I wasn’t dragging when I wrote blog posts like this one; and I wasn’t dragging when I wrote in my writer’s journal. The only time the writing dragged was when I was writing on the book

and then I had an “a-ha!” moment. If writing blog posts was flowing smoothly for me, why not think of the book as a series of blog posts?

And when I did, the words began to jump into the keyboard once more.

“Tell Yourself Better Stories” is about the power of words, how the beliefs we hold and the stories we tell ourselves shape the nature of the world around us, and how, if we want to have the best lives possible, we need to tell ourselves better stories.; and it’s interesting how life is imitating Art. For this book, as opposed to just powering or talking my way through it, I’m having to challenge my beliefs and expectations about writing and how I write.

To think outside the box.

To tell myself better stories

I’m learning a lot about the power of words as I write this book, and I hope that I can do a good job of sharing these things with you.

Back to writing.

Catherine Kane

11/20/15

For more information on Catherine’s books, “Adventures in Palmistry”, “The Practical Empath – Surviving and Thriving as a Psychic Empath”, “Manifesting Something Better”, “The Psychic Power of Your Dreams”, her urban fantasy “The Lands That Lie Between”  and her new book “Magick for Pennies”, all from Foresight Publications, click here

and for the new Kindle version of Manifesting Something Better, click here

This entry was posted in My Writing, and What's Up With That and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

