Writers are Readers

I’m currently in the editing phase of my next book about renaissance faires  and, while I’m waiting for the feedback to come back from my beta readers, it’s a good time to think about the book that’s next in line after this one.

The next book I’ve got in the chute is “The Swans of War”, a partially finished sequel to my first urban fantasy “The Lands That Lie Between.” It still needs a number of plot threads woven in, a stronger ending and a whole bunch of polishing before it’ll be looking for beta readers, but it’s finally moving up in line to be transformed from a part of a story to the full deal.

One of the things that I find helpful as part of the creative process is to read in the genre I’m writing to get my mind flowing along the paths of that style. I find that getting myself  into the genre helps me to better tell my own story in my own style. So, this week, I’m reading urban fantasy…..

  • Chaos Choreography by Seanen McQuire
  • Roadside Magic by Lilith Stormcrow
  • Fire Touched by Patricia Briggs

and a whole lot more to limber up my mind to write some urban fantasy in my own style.

What are you reading?

Catherine Kane

3/30/16

For more information on Catherine’s books, “Adventures in Palmistry”, “The Practical Empath – Surviving and Thriving as a Psychic Empath”, “Manifesting Something Better”, “The Psychic Power of Your Dreams”, “Magick for Pennies” and her urban fantasy “The Lands That Lie Between”, all from Foresight Publications, click here

and for the new Kindle version of Manifesting Something Better, click here

 

This entry was posted in My Writing, and What's Up With That, reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

